Ten reasons to love C.S. Lewis

Although I come from a family of readers, I was not exposed to C.S. Lewis until I was 18, when my dear friend Melita convinced me to read The Chronicles of Narnia, which I read with alacrity.  The first year we were friends, she gave me her marked-up copy of Surprised by Joy for Christmas.  I would have never visited Narnia on my own, but I embrace her as my country of dual citizenship.  So as a card-carrying member of the Narnian Chamber of Commerce, I invite you to visit Narnia and meet her creator.

  1. Puddleglum – a more non-heroic hero is almost unimaginable
  2. Lucy – One of the original bravest girls in literature
  3. Aslan – If you don’t already know why, please, please, please read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.
  4. Because he first articulated the concept of the “true myth”.
  5. Surprised by Joy
  6. If not a prophet, he was at least prescient.  Except for the fantasy bits about Merlin and the other supernatural humans, which a reasonable person will understand to be a plot device, he depicts society as it is today.  Names aren’t given; exact counterparts don’t exist; however, the methods of N.I.C.E. are the methods of ostensibly benevolent totalitarians the world over.
  7. “There is no other stream.”
  8. “Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”
  9. “All that is not eternal is eternally out of date.”
  10. I believe in Christianity as I believe that the Sun has risen, not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

